Commons in Space

Commons in Space

How will shared resources in space, from satellites and space debris to mining of celestial bodies, be managed?

A group of 145 interdisciplinary scholars gathered for a virtual conference Feb. 24-26, 2021 to explore how to solve collective action problems and ensure long-term sustainability of space exploration activities.

Key accomplishments

Project website

Project contact: 

Marco Janssen

Funding years:


Team members

Marco Janssen

ASU School of Sustainability

Lead Social Scientist

Timiebi Aganaba

ASU School for the Future of Innovation in Society

Matthew Lace

ASU Thunderbird

Diana Ayton-Shenker

CEO Leonardo

Jessy Kate Schingler

Open Lunar Foundation

External Co-Lead

Steven Freeland

Western Sydney University, Australia

Alice Gorman

Flinders University of South Australia

Tanja Masson-Zwaan

University of Leiden, The Netherlands

Tanja is President Emerita of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL). She advises the Dutch Government on space law issues and co-founded the Hague International Space Resources Governance Working Group. She served on various Boards, including the European Centre for Space Law, Women in Aerospace-Europe, the Netherlands Space Society and Secure World Foundation.

Scott Shackelford​​​​​​​

Indiana University, Kelley School of Business

Andrew Woods

University of Arizona, College of Law

Subscribe for Interplanetary Updates